Error installing apps

hur

Cadet
I am a computers student and new to servers and linux in general. I setup an old pc with truenas scale for testing and learning and was successful with setting up pools and smb but whenever i try to install an app (tried sonarr and pihole) it gives me the following errors.

Chart.release.deleteWaiting for x pods to terminate

Chart.release.create Failure occurred while installing x, cleaning up

What can i be doing wrong and what can i do to fix this issue? Tia

hur

Cadet
Version:
TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.0

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31245 @ 3.30GHz
8GB Ram
1tb storage hdd
128 boot ssd

jgreco

Resident Grinch
You do not really have enough memory to support apps. 8GB is the minimum RAM required for the base system to be able to operate.

hur

Cadet
So if i am unable to upgrade my ram at the moment the best option would be to switch os?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
So if i am unable to upgrade my ram at the moment the best option would be to switch os?

Perhaps more specifically, change filesystem. ZFS is known for requiring a lot of memory resources, and with TrueNAS, some significant memory is also used for the middleware.

ChrisRJ

Wizard
The depends on what you want to achieve. You never mentioned why you chose TrueNAS in the first place.

hur

Cadet
The depends on what you want to achieve. You never mentioned why you chose TrueNAS in the first place.
The primary reason for me to build this system was to learn more about servers in general. While doing so i wanted to build a system that would function as a basic nas and run apps like sonarr, radarr and basic jellyfin. If i were able to run my testing python bots on it would have been a plus.

hur

Cadet
I chose truenas scale because it used linux so it was an opportunity for me to get into linux and learn it a little, the user interface seemed more easy and intuitive to me unlike openmediavault (omv) etc, and was free unlike unraid.